• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tax Planning

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax Planning

If you had a personal income tax problem, what would you do? Buy fertilizer (price dropping but usually fall apply for work load reasons), buy cattle (have the feed but BSE,etc.???) to sell in the spring to buy fertilizer, pay the taxes, or????

Hi Wade. A bit of background. I am an agricultural accountant and have an interest in a 10,000 acre grain farm.

When you say a "tax" problem, it depends on a few things. Are you in the lowest tax bracket (under $38,000)above $75,000 etc. The level of income will somewhat change the answer.

Typically, inputs are the first choice. In my mind, RRSP's would be before cattle. Although there is nothing wrong with buying some RRSP's as more of a savings, it will tie up cash and only give you a maximum deduction of $26-$44 for every $100 depending on the tax bracket you fall in. Buying cattle can be somewhat more risky in that you may put at risk the purchase cost or investment.

Do you have other income beside farming. You are not able to create a loss with pre-purchased inputs, cattle etc. You are only able to reduce the farming income to nil.

Is this a one time spike in income or has it been constantly growing over a number of years? If it is a spike and the following year does not appear to be similar then, you may choose to find a method to bring down.

How profitable of a year was 2008. What is your future tax liability taking into account inventories, fair value of equipment verses undepreciated cost, amount of debt that you are carrying etc.