• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New crop canola

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New crop canola

Well people I am calling on your experteise for a honest opinion. I am kind of new at this canola business and am just sort of getting accustomed to the marketing. Friday I priced 49 tonnes at 7.71 for next november delivery. Was that a good move? How much would it be safe to commit?(per acre in bushels) I think historically it isn't a bad price, and certainly better than the last two years. Sorry to be such a pain with such an elementary question. Really do enjoy all your postings(makes me think)

fwiw my target's 8.50/bu to start pricing new-crop canola but what does one person know... lots of talk but not a lot of concrete yet on this whole bio-diesel bandwagon.

all in all i think you can't go wrong selling a little bit at this price, assuming it pencils a profit and you've already booked the seed.

Comment

also, only in my opinion, you should look to start at 10-20% of anticipated production once it pencils out to a profitable price. Too many people wait for the "high" and end up losing money. Once you are over the break even, pick some targets and start pricing up.

Comment

For me it will 20% for november at 8:25

Comment

Central Alberta Bids new crop bids over $8.00 yesterday. I have always used $8.00 as a trigger for some production. Other option might be to grap some basis contracts to price later. In the new world of hybrids and consistant 50 bushel yields,$400 gross per acre is attractive.

Comment