• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The gophers are out ......

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The gophers are out ......

And this could be a large outbreak year ....I can't bitch to the government on the strychnine ban because it has to be scientific....I am not a scientist....believe it or not....But I did see an increase in gophers last year and efforts eventually became worthless....100 feet for a mile was used to feed them from my neighbours ..cough...pasture where there was nothing to eat...

Shooting them but was hestitant to poison near his animals...

My solution would involve renting it, a D8 with a long single shank and summerfallowing. But maybe it isn't that big a deal.

Comment

Only saw 9 gophers on Thursday and I brought home 9 for the cats.
      The gophers didn’t have a chance with the 17HMR heavy barrel, i declared war on them last spring and should be pretty much gopher free this summer.
      I had a hard time last spring getting the little buggers to eat poison and it was very slow shooting so I started drowning them out, one hole took about 500 gallons of water and flooded out 17 gophers On that one hole.

Comment

Gophers? It is minus 20 with three feet of snow. Lol, what a place we live.

Comment

Originally posted by Sheepwheat View Post
          Gophers? It is minus 20 with three feet of snow. Lol, what a place we live.
          Guessing there isn’t snowmobile derbies going on where they are hunting gophers already.

Comment

Actually the local community had a snowmobile derby last weekend, I road my goldwing, lotsa quads and side by sides showed up.

Comment