• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What was your most profitable crop this year?

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What was your most profitable crop this year?

The debate over end point royalties and what influences each crops profitability brought me to an interesting result. Historically canola and yellow peas fight over the most profitable crop on my farm. Keep in mind I am a small operator and I only grow 150-200 acres of yellow peas each year, like the straw for my cows. This year was certainly dry with a very challenging fall that ended up yielding surprising results. My peas got hailed just as they were starting to ripen, hail adjuster said 25%, but they still yielded better than my historical averages. With hail insurance included they out grossed my CPS wheat by roughly $40 per acre and as you can guess my yellow peas were the highest grossing and netting crop this year. Second was my CPS wheat, a crop that around the first of October I thought would still be there next spring, flat and covered with snow. Much to my amazement it held a number 2 CPS grade. In third was canola, a bit below average yield combined with lacklustre prices give a disappointing year for canola. To equal the same gross return as the wheat I would need $11.50 per bushel. Fortunately green seed wasn't an issue.