• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Western Feedlots shutting down feeding operations

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Western Feedlots shutting down feeding operations

Just read a news release that Western Feedlots is feeding out existing inventory and they won't be refilling. 100000 head capacity ouch! As a cow calf producer I am certainly concerned at how this will affect the market. As a grain producer I am also concerned. They blaim extreme volatility in the beef markets as well as the present economic and political climate in Alberta. More job loss and more economic pain Alberta.

"They blaim extreme volatility in the beef markets as well as the present economic and political climate in Alberta"

Ya, the Alberta NDP are to blame for the recent crash of beef prices in the Canadian market, nothing to do with the operator not realizing that the record prices wouldn't last forever. Maybe he should have been given some kind of government subsidy to cover his short fall, I'm sure a PC government would be doing just that, or maybe Brad Wall could have saved him if he was on the other side of the border.

Just like grain farmers who thought the sky was the limit for grain prices a couple of years ago, and those American buyers would be pounding on their doors to buy their wheat. Remember all the poster's here on Agriville making those comments, pretty quite now, on that topic.

Hey, that's how the free market works, the weak get eaten by the strong, always has been always will be that way. As Neil Young says "Keep on Rocking in the Free World"

Comment

Is this the first time the beef market cycled? Seems this pattern repeats itself every 7-10 years. Kind of like climate change.

Comment