• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Switch Grass?

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Switch Grass?

It seems to me a common theme anymore is tough weather conditions through out western Canada and increasing (and volatile) costs to grow annual food crops?
    I'm no expert on switch grass or the economics of growing it for ethanol...but if it would work up here it could be a very good option?
    Apparently it also produces polymers which could be used for plastics!
    Because it is a grass it does not need to be planted every spring and harvest would take place before the snow flies!
    I assume it would have an excellent carbon footprint....which might be a real important consideration if/when carbon cap and trade prices approach that $100/t rate?
    Is any government in Canada researching or promoting this crop? It might be a real boon for the Western Canadian farmer?

The carbon credit scam has been exposed and you can forget cashing in. The world is not heating up and the scientists have gone back to thier labs to dream up another theory.

Comment

Don't have a real answer to your questions but a couple of comments I
      have heard.

Second generation biofuels (of which fibre is one) is advancing in
      technology but isn't necessarily there yet. Will come eventually.

Things that make large biomass crops like switch grass a crop that can
      be used as a biofuel feedstock (competitiveness with other crops, ability
      to survive in a wide variety of conditions/climate, etc.) also make them
      good weeds. They have the ability to spread quickly into traditional
      crops and natural areas - needs to thought about when they are
      introduced.

Comment

Agree Charlie.