• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

? for the experts.

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

? for the experts.

I've been following the posts here for a while, very informative, thanks to all of you.
    I'm a small cow/calf guy in Southern MB, I've hung onto my calves and getting to the point to where I have to decide, do I hang on longer or do I let them go for .90/lb. I was told by a feeder that the grasser market would help bids in a month or so... Looking for input, I know it's a pretty broad question that needs to take into account other costs & such but I guess I'm looking for bigger picture opinions & ideas.

a2, I am by no means an expert. My concern and the million $ question is will the middle class be buying beef when the cattle in question get fat. Given the economic crisis it is an unknown. I have just moved 25% of my calves and will take the rest to grass. If you have grass, the best money made here besides the direct to plate part, is grass to 950/1000lbs. That is why if you wait until the grass cattle buyers are ready to procure you might get a bump in price. I could go on and on but the bottom line is the commercial guy is a price taker and it is your job to try and figure out what you can supply for the best price in the market. You control timing, location, size, type etc., but the market controls the price.

Comment