• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New farmers!

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New farmers!

I don't know where the next generation of farmers are going to come from. Maybe it is just the area I live in but it seems to me that we are just a bunch of old men! Over the last thirty years some farmers got very big, as they bought out the ones wanting to quit, and have built up some good farms but it seems their kids have no interest in taking over. And who can blame them? Who wants to work all the time for the crumby returns you get when you can go to the city and make a lot more and be able to enjoy what you do make?
    I have a son, who has a degree in commerce, who wants to come home to farm. I'm wondering if they taught him anything, if he's that dumb!

Hi Cowman. I think you have hit the nail on the head. Where are we going to get the people to do the farming in the future? There are many producers finding themselves asking the same questions you are - do you encourage the kids to take over? It is a hard question to answer.

The answer might lie in the fact that they can't come home and farm the way it has been done for the past 50 years. They may have to farm in terms of growing and producing the things that they can add value to - diversification - and that people will want to buy.