• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Prices!

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Prices!

I am a cow/calf producer and it sort of bugs me how the media is always saying how rosy the cattle business is. Compared to what? Take a look at what calves were sellin for back in 1992 and compare it to today. 1992-$1.22 for 700 lb. calves...2001-$1.40 for 700 lbs., which looks great! Then take a look at what a new pickup costs, or a tractor, or a tonne of fertilizer, or a liter of fuel, or worst of all a machinery part! We are not going ahead but just treading water (maybe!). The grain guys are definitely sinking!!

Cowman:

How right can you be. These are the challenges of today. It is very important for all of us to be looking at ways to cut our costs just to stay afloat. My hope is that people begin to pool their knowledge and resources to do this. Their are many ways that we can handle this but the first step is up to those that are willing and able to adjust to these changes and the challenges of the future. Go luck to all those that feel they can just keep doing what they are (and have been ) doing expecting better results!

Comment

Cowman, everything is relative, isn't it! Consumers don't stop to think about what it costs to get their food to them. All they are concerned with is that it is safe, cheap, convenient and has some benefit for them. We make such a big deal out of tax freedom day, why not food freedom day?!?