• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice on Grass Blend.....please

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Grass Blend.....please

I need some advice on a grazing blend (will sometimes be hayed). I would like to use a vetch in the blend rather than alfalfa (don't have time to worry about bloat).

What are some good blends to use in the brown soil zone in Southwest Sask?

Guys around here are moving away from crested wheat completely and moving to higher percentage meadow brome with some russian wild rye and vetch.

What do you guys think of this blend:

60% FleetMeadow Brome
    20% Russian Wild Rye
    20% Cicer Milk Vetch

(no crested wheat?)

I am totally new to this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also seeding rate recommendations.

We have been seeding grass for a few years now and are more in west central sask. but can get real dry here. We have seeded crested wheat with intermediate wheat grass also meadow brome,intermediate
    wheat grass and cicer milkvetch and touch of alfalfa.The milkvetch is expensive and dosen't establish very well.I would not recommend it.Russian wild rye becomes too clumpy and very rough to cut or drive on.We are now going to a 65% meadow brome grass 30% crested wheat and a 5% alfalfa at about 7-8 pounds per acre of total seed.

Comment

Don't expect to see any milkvetch for 3 to 4 years after you seed it.Don't be sscared to put 10% alfafa in the blend.When the vetch does finally come the tannins in it will reduce the risk of bloat.I've also grazed pure alfalfa without a problem.

Comment