• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why fight with each other, think instead?

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why fight with each other, think instead?

I am a cow/calf producer in Canada and most of R-CALF are the same, as a group we have more in common than we have differences.
    - in each of our countries we are the bottom of the feeder chain but we are also the beginning.
    - BSE is about as common on either side of the border but, the calves leaving our farms and ranches fed on grass and milk are the least likely source.
    - our cull cows on both sides are a potential source of BSE as well as are the cull dairy cows.
    - the same trans-national packers dominate the retail and export beef markets and play the primary producer, the feeders, and the consumers off against each other on both sides of the border. By doing so they are the big winners in this game not either of us.

So here are some ideas that show that cooperation between c/c producers and feeders on both sides of the border will lead to more profits for both us and the independent feeders:
    - all calves leaving the farm/ranch gate leaves with an electronic tag and is age verified. The cost to be born by the producer, but will returned to them as an ad on charge to the purchaser.
    - we as producers pay for the testing of all cull cows including dairy on a cow by cow basis. Each cow is tagged at the farm gate with the costs of tagging returned to the producer by the purchaser.
    - the feeder must pay for the testing but the full price of the test must be returned for each animal that passes the test. The costs of administering are to be born by the packer.