• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pricing Flax/Canola

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pricing Flax/Canola

This is my first time in 17 years of farming that I actually sold all of my flax & canola off of the field & then got a position that day on Jan canola.Well this was about sept 15 & I had a few margin calls etc. I was down a couple of bucks & decided to get out since trading was narrow.
    So what do I do now, I sold my canola for 5.50 & would like to get back in somewhere.But my trader is uncertain what will happen is just playing the 5-10 waves. Is there a pattern showing? Could someone show me? I would like to get another 1.00 for my canola (target) so how should I do it this winter. Also what about flax should it move more? when should I buy some.I have tried options but always got on the wrong side & never felt they were really any good for the producer (or me).
    Dan

My thoughts are for some patience right now. The overall vegoil price situation remains heavy with lots of palm oil being generated in Malaysia/Indonesia and soybean a cheap by product in a soybean market that is getting driven by high meal prices. In the latter case, the high meal prices have corresponded to the time S. American farm managers have been making their seeding decisions (more acres soybeans/favorable seeding and growing conditions to date. My thoughts are that canola will likely hold a trading range over the winter ($270/t top end and $250/t) with a good possibility it will be a market that loses carry (as an example, all futures months lose $6/t premium as Jan. futures become the delivery month and Mar. starts to trade a similar range to what Jan. has to date).