• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Swathing Peas

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Swathing Peas

I'm new to growing peas. Dont have a straight cut header but have a newer Macdon swather and want to swath but am concerned about losses. Only have 350 acres of peas and that's hardly enough to justify a flex header. Just want to see what others are doing.

Yikes man. Swathed peas are wind prone and slow drying after being soaked with rain. Green peas are prone to more sun bleaching standing than in a swath. I haven't grown yellows for ever and only once...I think they can be swathed too green and then some won't cure out yellow(???? Anyone?) Standing peas don't "stand" forever. ...they will go down. Peeling downed peas off the ground whether straight cutting or swathing is no fun. Desiccating is needed for straight cutting. I dont know if I would want to go back to swathing peas.

Today's technology.... if you have a true flex head with both auto header height and auto tilt control you can sure do a nice job. This year's peas were the easiest I ever straight cut...standing and not real heavy because of dryness. Last year started out fine but we had more acres and it took longer to do them so by the time we were almost done they were going down a little every day...way more material too.

Good luck.

Comment