• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Alberta's New Premier

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Alberta's New Premier

Any thoughts on Alberta's new premier?

Allison Redford bio below(copied from CBC). Absolutely no experience with ag. There could be a new ag minister soon depending upon how Jack Hayden played his cards during the election.

Redford, a married mother of a nine-year-old daughter, is a lawyer by profession and a life-long conservative who was voted the president of the Alberta Young Conservatives as a high school student in Calgary.

After graduating from law school at the University of Saskatchewan in 1988, Redford worked in the Prime Minister's Office and for Joe Clark while he was the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

She later worked in South Africa, Vietnam, Bosnia and served as one of four international observers appointed by the United Nations to observe Afghanistan's first parliamentary elections in 2005.

She resigned from cabinet in February after joining the race to replace Ed Stelmach as party leader and premier.

During her campaign, she frequently took positions that were contrary to party policy. In a recent interview with CBC News, Redford said that she didn't receive a single endorsement from any of her former cabinet colleagues when she decided to run.

I should have added that the Alberta PCs needed to reinvent themselves and put a new face on the party and I think they have done it. Quite an achievement.

Watch for the the PC supporters who crossed over to the Wildrose to come flocking back to the Conservatives.

It is a remarkable day in Alberta politics.

Comment