• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

cross fencing

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cross fencing

I am going to do some electric cross fencing and would like some opinions on whether to use rebar with insulators or treated posts with insulators,and also what wire do you find works best with the least maintenance.Thanks

I assume you are talking about setting up permanent crossfences? If you are I would suggest 12.5 gauge high tensile wire. I have no experience with rebar posts but generally use either 2 inch treated posts (especially if you can get them on sale at @60 cents)or fibreglass posts and wire clips. The latter are great if you have a lot of wildlife passing through as the just bend over and spring back up again. Disadvantages of fibre glass are that it deteriorates with sun and time and if you need to move posts etc your hands get full of shards of fibreglass. Another disadvantage I found was when I later decided to crossfence within the fibreglass post enclosures with temporary wire running at 90 degrees to my existing wires was that the posts bend over too much. So I had to go back and replace some posts with wooden ones. On balance I probably prefer the light wooden posts if you can buy them cheap enough. Be careful what type of insulator you buy, many of them are complete junk and will break or come off as soon as a moose/fallen tree hits the wire.

Comment

It mostly depends on the relative costs of materials .
      we use lengths of3/4 inch oilfield
      sucker rods .
      then use 3 piece insulators

Comment

We use treated posts and insulators. You can put the posts quite a distance apart. We still use three strand barb wire regular fence for the perimeter though.