• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

nutrient management plans

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

nutrient management plans

I am a cow calf farmer farming in northern ontario and have recently became aware of the new legislation requiring Ontario farmers to register their farms for nutrient management plans. It seems to me that this will create alot of extra unpaid work on an all ready diminishing set of hours in my week. Is there anyone that has looked at this new legislation and had a chance to digest what it will mean for the future of farming in Canada?

I just made a presentation to the consultation on it today. The NMP part of the proposed legislation is actually the least significant part in my mind, compared to the proposed regulations on application standards for manure, storage, standards for outdoor housing, etc., most of which are scheduled to come into effect April 1 2003 if it goes as they plan and would have major impacts, particularly in Eastern and Northern Ontario. Things like banning winter spreading, standards based on depth of topsoil, slope and depth of the water table which would take some large amounts of land out of production, separation distances from houses, wells etc for applying manure orfertilizer. So draconian even one of the extreme environmentalists today said it was too hard for farmers to comply with.

Comment