• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sucession planning

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sucession planning

Hey all! I am new to Agrillve.

A little bit about myself, my husband and I ranch in B.C. 500 cow-calf (Herford cattle) and we are looking into farm succession planning and we are really struggling to find a good approach that works for everyone in our family. We have three kids who are interested in being a part of the operation, but right now it would only sustain about two families. Has anyone been through the succession experience? Any advice would be great!

Find someone with a ag background preferably beef that can walk your family through the exercise of succession planning. It creates those hard discussions today but in the long run you are further ahead. I can only speak to the case where little or no thought was put into succession planning. Speaking from experience it's an absolute disaster when it's left to "the kids can work it out"

Comment

Hi there . For good advise contact
      Allison Guichon @ Quilchena 250/378/9734
      She is an educator with Holistic Management Internatiol & has learned about family planning

Comment

A good farm experienced accountant can help a lot too. There are ways to do it that work best for everyone, and the tax consequences of a wrong move can be painful.

Comment

Succession planning or family planning?, lol there is a difference!

Comment

Thanks for the advice!
            I might try and reach out to Allison. My husband is a bit uneasy about bringing in a third party, as he views it as a family matter. But as you all know farming is complicated because it is both a farming matter and a business.