• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PFRA pastures

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PFRA pastures

I'm not a cattle producer but I am a supplier to your industry. I grow feed grain, hay and rent out grain land for fall grazing.

I am wondering how the sale of PFRA pastures will impact the industry. Will this increase the over all numbers or decrease? Will there be room for more intensive tame grass grazing? Will smaller producers that maybe rely on putting 30/40 head in pastures just get out or will they by in? If the small guys get out will these numbers be replaced by the big guys.

Will this be good for the most cattle producers or is it going to push a lot of guys out and force "get big or go home " attitude?

It would be nice to hear from all size of operations so we can get a good view of changes that are comming.

I don't see it being good, but the fact is that the PFRA pastures have been quietly, surely and slowly pricing themselves out of business for the past few years. We spent years on a waiting list for space at the local PFRA, and when we finally got to the front of the line, we couldn't afford to use them.

IMHO they could have made more effort to keep the prices in line, but the will wasn't there. Empty pastures can be justified as being surplus to be sold off. What better way to empty them than to make them too expensive to use?

We moved to using private pastures a long time ago, and are very happy with the way it is now. It's more flexible, there's a lot less red tape, and we have more control over hauling dates.

I think there will be guys who go out of cows because of this. It can be hard to get access to private pastures in certain areas.