• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

agro-forestry/permaculture project

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

agro-forestry/permaculture project

We are a young couple who purchased 86 acres of old farmstead in Pictou Co., Nova Scotia. We have no experience in farming, but enjoy the benefits of hard work and a simple life. My background is in tourism, with training in ecotourism planning and development, and my partner is a lobster fisher, with experience working in the woods.

We have no history of the farm, but the land has not been productive for some time. There is some field remaining around the house, and some fairly mature softwoods and poplar. The majority of the property has been cut over, and left in a state of disrepair. There is some regrowth in areas of poplar and wire birch, and some softwood. There are also quite a few patches of blackberries and raspberries, and a number of varieties of overgrown apple trees. There are a couple of small brooks running through the property, and some boggy areas due to the lay of the land.