• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Nitrates

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nitrates

I'm no expert on this but just wanted to let people know high nitrates can be a real problem this year. There is a large outfit in my area that baled up all their crops for greenfeed. When they got it tested it was very high in nitrates and would have killed their cows big time. They are mixing it with other stuff and are able to get the numbers down to an acceptable level. So get those drought-stressed crops checked.

There is a very little known solution to nitrates in forage crops. If you suspect a nitrate problem and have access to a silage bagger - go for it. The oxygen free fermentation converts nitrates to "If I remember right" - nitrites - an acceptable form. I trust that's the correct chemical terminology. I do know that what ever it does it converts the problem to a benefit.

Comment