• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Arable Food for Thought

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Arable Food for Thought

Sometimes I get musings while I drive. What if scenarios of sorts.

Please bear in mind I am not an arable farmer. The intricacies of it are not my forte. Even more so, I am not a mechanic LOL Do not expect me to know even the basic workings of a combine. It has wheels.

With that said, what are the general Agriville gentleman's and lady's view on polyculture cropping? Potentially beneficial, too much work, just a PITA, makes sense, maybe one day or never going to happen.

I'm a firm believer in the benefits of diveristy. Ecosystems thrive on diversity, genetics thrive on diversity, yet somehow, our crops have been narrowed down to just one monoculture. I enjoy reading up and trying to implement companion planting in my little garden. Some things work better than others depending on what the result is supposed to be. As farmers, you will all know (or should I'd hope!) the basic ideas of nitrogen fixing plants and utilizing them in crop rotations. These wonderful plants work even better when planted along side others instead of in rotations. The rising popularity of cover crops shows that not all people are immune to the knowledge of beneficial companion planting, even if that's not the term they'd use. However that's just such a small slice of the potential pie. The ability to boost a plants immune system with diveristy, boost the soil health, even increase yield per acre, it's all there! Yet so few are even willing to listen...

By so few I mean those wonderful people on Facebook who prefer to be naysayers and tell you you're an idiot for trying to think outside the box LOL