• You will need to login or register before you can post a message. If you already have an Agriville account login by clicking the login icon on the top right corner of the page. If you are a new user you will need to Register.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To Buy cow calf pairs or not?

Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To Buy cow calf pairs or not?

Well fellow agriville people's just wondering whats the collective thoughts on expanding?...have a option of picking up more cow calf pairs.

I don't think it is a bad time if you get the right deal and can dollar cost average them into your cowherd. Most buyers this spring were buying with cash from the upswing, heading into the downswing, and for my money I think there were a lot of money losing cows purchased. Depends a bit on where you are at and how the extra cows can change your fixed costs.

Comment

When is this market going to bottom? I'm no expert but I have a feeling we won't see it till 2017 at least maybe 2018. If you can hold off and wait for a year or 2 you'll get a lot of those $2800 bred cows for $2000 or less. Still too much optimism out there to keep bred market strong while feeder market is eroding. Wonder how those $4200 bred heifers bought out of vermillion auction market pencil with $1000 or less steers.

Comment

WiltonRanch - If you got 100% conception and have 0 cost of production it should only take 4 years to pay for them... have a little optimism (LOL).

Comment

I guess there is no right or wrong answer on my question as every situation is different.

Comment

The prices are already decently low...go for it...you will eventually make money at it if you keep your operating costs in line....

Comment

It's more important than ever to buy good ones now. That can change the profitability on them quicker than the initial price.

Comment